Ways to Remove or Reclaim Your Photos and Videos on Google Photos
Is Your Phone Storage Full of Images and Videos in Google Photos? Photos and videos taken with your phone not only make an event, event, or trip unforgettable, they can also bring back great memories. It’s heartbreaking to decide whether to keep it or not. When you change phones or free up space, it becomes very difficult to delete all those beautiful photos and videos.
However, to avoid deletion, you can make a backup provided by Google Photos. If you use Google Photos and have backup and sync turned on, deleted photos and videos will remain in the trash for up to 60 days before being permanently deleted.
Whether you’re an Android user or an iPhone or iPad user, you’ll need to install the Google Photos app and back up all your pictures and videos before you can delete them. If you’re using an iPhone or iPad, be aware that up to 1,500 items can be removed from your Google Photos gallery or SD card at a time. So, if you want to delete photos and videos and recover them later, here’s how.
Method to delete photos and videos on Google Photos
- On your Android phone or tablet, or iPhone or iPad, open the Google Photos app.
- Sign in to your Google account.
- Touch and hold the photo or video that you want to move to the trash. You can select multiple items.
- Then tap Delete.
Note that if you delete a photo or video archived in Google Photos, it will remain in the trash for 60 days.
However, be aware that if you delete an item without backing it up, it will remain in your Recycle Bin for 30 days on your Android phone, while it will be deleted forever on your iPhone or iPad.
Also, if you see a photo or video in Google Photos that you think has been deleted, it may be on a removable memory card. Use the gallery app on your device to delete.
Method to permanently delete an object from your equipment:
- On your Android phone or tablet or iPhone or iPad, open the Google Photos app and sign in to your Google account.
- Select the item you want to delete, tap More, then tap Remove from the device.
How to Recover Photos and Videos in your Device
- Open the Google Photos app. At the bottom, tap Library, then tap Trash.
- Touch and hold the photo or video you want to recover.
- At the bottom, tap Restore. Photos or videos back: to the Gallery app on your phone, to your Google Photos library, to all the albums you’ve visited.
However, if the item is not found in your Recycle Bin, it may have been permanently deleted. If the deleted photo or video isn’t in the Recycle Bin, you won’t be able to recover it either.